Disaster and Emergency Preparedness

 


APRIL Emergency Preparedness Response Position Paper

Emergency preparedness, response, and recovery are critical to all communities, and it is especially important for people with disabilities in rural areas. At APRIL, we strive to advance the equity of people with disabilities in rural communities through advocacy, collaboration, shared experience, leadership development, education, and training. In the face of disasters and emergencies, we believe that people with disabilities, like all other community members, must have the right and opportunity to live, work, play, and love in the communities of their choice.

 

Click Here to Read APRIL's Position Paper


 

Disaster and Emergency Preparedness and Response Committee

This committee was initiated support CILs and SILCs in their efforts on emergency preparedness, mitigation, response, and recovery. 

We are in a constant climate crisis, disasters and emergencies are increasing in intensity and frequency. Disabled people make up 26% of the US population. Disabled people are disproportionately impacted by disasters and emergencies because we are 2-to-4 times more likely to die or be injured during a disaster. 

We are all first responders when disasters strike in our localities. Let’s get together to share good practices and strategies, information and resources, and peer support before, during, and after disasters and emergencies. 

Every month on the Second Monday of the month (subject to change)

3:00pm EST (2:00pm CST, 1:00pm MST, 12:00pm PST) 

Register for this meeting:
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Resources

Emergency Relocation Toolkit

Click here to check out the Emergency Relocation Toolkit

Barrier Free Futures Podcast 

Topic: Invasion of Ukraine Effect on People with Disabilities 

Host: Bob Kafka

Barrier Free Futures: Barrier Free Futures - March 19, 2022 with Shaylin Sluzalis and Marcie Roth (libsyn.com)

Coalition Letter for DOT and DOJ support for Pretextual Traffic Stops

APRIL has signed up for our support for this due to these programs failing to promote public safety and jeopardize racial equity. 

Coalition Letter on Pretext - DOT_DOJ (2.12.22).pdf

"Wind Man v. The Hurricane"

A comic strip created by Peyton Douglas-Doran, a young leader through Disability EmpowHer Network. The comic is meant to educate disaster relief organizations on how to support and prepare for disabled and nonbinary people during emergencies.

Click here to download Wind Man v. The Hurricane

Click here to download Wind Man v. The Hurricane (Plain Text)