Disaster and Emergency Preparedness

 

Disaster and Emergency Preparedness and Response Committee

This committee was initiated support CILs and SILCs in their efforts on emergency preparedness, mitigation, response, and recovery. 

We are in a constant climate crisis, disasters and emergencies are increasing in intensity and frequency. Disabled people make up 26% of the US population. Disabled people are disproportionately impacted by disasters and emergencies because we are 2-to-4 times more likely to die or be injured during a disaster. 

We are all first responders when disasters strike in our localities. Let’s get together to share good practices and strategies, information and resources, and peer support before, during, and after disasters and emergencies. 

 

Every month on the Second Monday of the month (subject to change)

3:00pm EST (2:00pm CST, 1:00pm MST, 12:00pm PST) 

 
Register for this meeting:
 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.
 

 

Barrier Free Futures Podcast 

Topic: Invasion of Ukraine Effect on People with Disabilities 

Host: Bob Kafka

Barrier Free Futures: Barrier Free Futures - March 19, 2022 with Shaylin Sluzalis and Marcie Roth (libsyn.com)

 

Coalition Letter for DOT and DOJ support for Pretextual Traffic Stops

APRIL has signed up for our support for this due to these programs failing to promote public safety and jeopardize racial equity. 

Coalition Letter on Pretext - DOT_DOJ (2.12.22).pdf

Board of Directors Login

Address Information:
APRIL
11324 Arcade Drive, Suite 9
Little Rock, AR 72212

Phone Contact:
APRIL
Phone: 501-753-3400